Summer Classes and a rather long dream story.

Almost done with my summer class, I’ve been chipping at my take home exam, it’s going pretty well.  Kind of easy, but time consuming too.

I think it was a good use of my summer’s free time.  I needed something to do to feel productive, and since I didn’t have a job, this is a good choice.  Yay.  Plus, I figure I learned a little how to deal with a kind of unfocused professor.  Because he is unfocused.  Not intolerably so, I can follow his lectures almost always, but sometimes I get lost and need to read the book later.  Not good.  Got some good doodles done in his class though.  I doodles the frills from Virgilia’s dress, made a little SD teacher teaching how to derive Coloumbs Law from Gauss’ law of electrostatics or whatever, and a pretty nice sketch of the chair in front of me, complete with perspective.  I learned a bit too, it’s fun.  I just like school, so it’s all good.   School is fun.  Whatever.  I’m totally insane because I enjoy talking about school, nobody else does (not entirely true)

I think I might’ve rambled about this before, but once upon a time, I had this dream, lemme go onto a “horizontal rule” break so it feels seperated.

—-

The dream starts with me on a train going to the city.  The view from the train is nothing but fields and a beautiful river in the distance, with forests to the left.  I lived on a farm.

Anyways, I explain at this point why I am going to the city.  This is a magical fantasy world that is vaguely… not really nasuish but I feel more something NISIOISIN would write.  The city is rather “corrupted” by evil entities and the like, and I’m off to join a demon hunting group.  I’m not exactly good at elimination, but I’m referred to as a “Holy Mage” and have phenomnal support skills and the ability really detect and hold things together.  To make me a little mary sueish, it’s a fairly rare ability, and runs in my family.  Speaking of which, I have two sisters who are older, and they don’t really care for any of this, though they have the magic too.  They stay at home and tend the farm wtih my parents.  They’re 45-50, but act like they’re 30, I’m 18, my sisters are 20-22.  They might be twins, not totally sure.  I can’t remember.  So I get to the city and check out the headquarters.  It’s really dark and dank in the city, it feels like it just rained, even though it hasn’t rained in a few days, is the best way to put it.  Add a film of blue, too.  I think if there was a song that could fit the feeling of this city, it just might be .59.  Ironic, since tengoku means heaven.

The headquarters are a pretty nice place.  Imagine a more hotelish setting than the P3 dorms and you would have a pretty good feel for what I was at.  I meet up with stereotypical male friend archetype.  His name will be Alex for the sake of this, I feel that fits how stereotypical he is of this role.  Tall, blonde hair, red shirt, and jeans.  I’m a little immature so I have trouble dealing with people and he’s kind of loud, so I don’t get along well at first.

Anyways, I don’t remember much of the dream after that for a bit.  Adventures occur, I become team leader (yes I know deal with it).  Nothing major, just small extermination jobs.  Eventually though we get to a mansion that is severely damaged by the cities problems.  I’m actually horrified by the inside of this mansion, and through every single window (there are windows into rooms for some reason) you can see the black outlines of faces.  Creepy.  After exploring the mansion though, we eventually discover the source, there are enteties wrapped around a beautiful staircase in the center of the mansion.  Kind of like the main staircase in the Tohno mansion.  After a rather dangerous event there, where a member of the team gets hurt, we discover that the entire thing is a farce and has been caused by the owner of the mansion.  Apparently our effots aren’t universally appreciated.  Then it turns out this is all a flashback, I’m actually teaching a smaller younger group interested group of demon hunters about this incident, in order to get them to better understand approaches to larger corruption, and to see if they could catch the trick that it was a trap by the mansion owners.

Now, it’s also an issue though, because since most people aren’t overly sensitive to this, nobody really appreciates what we’re doing, and this starts to get to me.  Not enough to stop me in my work, but it’s on my mind a lot.  Eventually, I am out at the store to get some parchment, as I need something to work on spells or something.  Now, this is rather significant.  At the counter of the store stands Arcueid Brunestud (yes, her, without a doubt).  Arcueid is sort of my hero in this story, as she is in this universe a very well known demon hunter.  After we chat about random small talk, the topic comes up about the demon hunting.  Of course it does.  She gives me quite a compliment, and says that I’ve been doing a fantastic job holding the team together.  With her being a famous hunter, and me just being somebody who started about a year ago, this is an ENORMOUS compliment, and sort of changes my entire view around.  Rather than thinking of myself as a noble sacrifice who does this difficult work with no praise, I start to understand how much it matters that I do this.  This is an important turning point in the dream.  Very very important and one of the better feelings I have ever felt, and I remember the feeling of Arcueid telling me this very well.  She eventually leaves then, and the storeowner, who overheard us, gives me a… magic pencil or something that he had, saying it’ll help me with some sort of magic circle, and I decide to test it out there on the parchment I just bought.  And sure enough, without any hesitation, I begin to draw an absolutely gorgeous defensive circle.  Something that not even Beatrice could defeat.  Nearly in tears with thanks from what I just recieved in the past five minutes, I pay and leave, with a new sense of determination.

Skip more time.  Nothing siginificant happens.  Eventually a huge outbreak occurs, and though they’re invisible, there are these basic human form figures just wandering the streets.  They are extremely hard to get rid of, though not overly dangerous.  It turns out that only level five magic can do anything against them, and everybody on our team is at either level three or level four, so for a while we have nothing we can do.  In one particuarily vivid dream, we were in a car driving around, and suddenly two of them show up in the car, and we are forced to just ignore them.  Eventually I use the pencil I was given to come up with something to seal the city from these creatures, and nearly getting myself killed, I call it quits for now, and with the city in a better spot, I decide to head home.

Earlier in the dream, I mentioned that I heard that some people on the train like to go to the back car and take the entire ride on the back ladder.  I had known of this when I was first on the train, but I was kind of terrified of this, and though I wanted the view, it was too scary.  Now that I had finally grown some from dealing with actual trouble in the city for two years, I was ready to take on that ladder, and the view was phenomenal, as was the wind in my hair.  I’m a mage, I gotta have long hair after all.  I eventually get home, a little nervous, at this point I reveal my parents weren’t exactly supportive of all of this, because it was dangerous, and I really did nearly die.  My dad in particular was unsupportive.  My sisters knew I wouldn’t stop, so they were fine with it, though.

However, as I get home, the first thing I see is my dad standing on the grass out front, waiting for the train to come by so he could finally reunite with me.  And in the climax of the dream, and without a doubt the best feeling I have ever felt in a dream, I go up to my dad and hug him, and, realizing just why they were worried, about how easily I could’ve not come home and how lucky I was, I break down and start bawling.  Eventually my dad heads in to go get the others, and at this point I am on my knees in the grass (grass is a recurring theme of beauty in this dream and is particuarily green) still just bawling, pounding the ground with my fists because I couldn’t even begin to understand how stupid I was for taking risks like I did and for how lucky I was that I camehome.  Eventually though I feel a poke on my side, and it turns out my sisters, smiling, are out to greet me, and get me, because there’s a feast out back, along wtih a good deal of relatives and family friends.  At this point I finally stop crying, and after I wipe my eyes, grab my sisters hands as they help me up, I go out to greet everybody out back, feeling truly like I am on top of the world.  I wake up there.

—-

I want to write this into a short story one day, but I might not.  I just want to have another dream where I can have as wonderful as a feeling as I did at the turning point and the end.  This was without a doubt the most emotional dream I have ever had, and it was wonderful

Leave a Reply

