Water

I live in Michigan now, because I’m at college.  Up here, we have a lot of water and canals and the like.  Right at the end of campus is the Portage Canal.  I have a problem, basically.

Whenever I stare at large bodies of water, I am mesmerized.  Have been for as long as I can remember, and always will be.  It’s very corny and the like, but I can’t help it.  Once I was on a tour of Northwestern, a beautiful campus in Illinois, and we walked on the waterfront.  It took quite a deal of effort to not just sit down and stare.  Because as far as I could see, there was water.  It was absolutely beautiful looking down Lake Michigan, and if I had gone ot that college, I never would’ve stopped.  Today, first I went to a picnic with the physics department, and that ended wtih me sitting on a bench looking across the Portage Canal, which is beautiful because on the other side is a very large hill covered in trees, old fashioned houses, and the like.  It’s a very beautiful and nostalgic view.

Later, I was getting a tour of a Biomed engineer’s research lab, and across the hall was a window which gave  another beautiful view of the canal.  Once again, I just stood and stared at that beautiful water and the trees across the canal.

I don’t really know what it is about water, but you know what happened?  Every time I was staring, Phantom Ensemble started playing in my head.  I’m not entirely sure why, because I wouldn’t associate that song with water, but I certainly started imagining it when I looked at the water.  But really, I don’t know what it is.  I feel silly getting mesmerized by an ocean every time I see it, but somehow I just love looking across the water.  On the drive up to Michigan is a beautiful bay, and we always drive by at night, so you can see Marquette across the bay, with all of the lights on, and those reflect on the black, black water.  It’s a large bay, so I get this view for such a long time, too.  So, so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

